A Strange Morning

Sunny Southern California They Say…

My main goal this morning was to take care of loads of bureaucratic nonsense at my local community college. I didn’t have my extra-large cup of Turkish coffee, figuring I could pick up a coffee at school.The neighbors had been yelling and making all sorts of noise, their little girl screaming her lungs out over some sort of injury or another, and I just needed some peace.

I arrived on campus feeling cranky. It was hot and humid, with large clouds heavier then blue whales floating above. Made my way to the office where I needed to have all my things taken care of, waited in a nearly hour long line, and then was curtly told that I’d have to come back on Tuesday for someone to help me, and no I couldn’t make an appointment, and yes I did have to wait in line again.

Frustrated and disheartened, I thought, “I know what’ll cheer me up! A kids meal from Taco Bell!”

Let me explain. A few weeks ago I’d noticed a post on Kotaku promising copies of EA’s My Sims game in their kids meals. As far as I know, it’s like The Sims, but aimed at a kiddie demographic. I figured I could pick up a copy and write a short review just-for-fun.

I drove to the neighborhood Taco Bell (first time I’ve been to one since I was a teen,) went up to the window and asked about the promotion. The employee had no idea what I was talking about. She asked her co-workers and they too hadn’t heard of any such thing. Finally, she opened a kid’s meal bag, and pulled out a blue, square package with the My Sims logo on it. Looked like what I wanted so I ordered my meal, fended off beggars on the street while waiting for it, and was finally handed my bag (they forgot my soda.)

Well, opening the bag in the car revealed that what I’d actually received wasn’t a copy of the game, but a cheap plastic CD case in which to put a copy of the game should I ever get it. It also came with some stickers.

Oh boy! Stickers! ...wait, I don't care about that.

I ate my crappy burrito and sugar covered puffs (or whatever they were) on my ride home. I parked the car in the lot behind my apartment, got out and took a few steps when I saw what looked like electricity forming rapidly in the air a few yards from me. It was lightning. Followed by the loudest damned thunder I ever did here! I made haste to my apartment before giant raindrops began to fall with regular bursts of thunder all around.

My dad told me he was hit by lighting when he was younger. Claimed it made him very nauseous, but left him otherwise unscathed. He’s one of those quiet, old world types who has strange stories and experiences that I can never understand or hope to experience. I just live in such a different world then the one he grew up in. But I think I was almost hit by lighting today, so perhaps we can now relate on that front!

As for My Sims, I looked into it when I got home, and it seems they have three different items in the kids meal. The game, the CD case in which to put the game with stickers for decoration, and a poster.

At least I’m enjoying my coffee now.

About Armand K.

Digital Color and Retouching.
This entry was posted in Journals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Strange Morning

  1. Kyle says:

    This reminds me of when I was a kid. When I would get a “Happy Meal” at McDonalds they always gave me a doll or some other “girly” toy. I never got the action figure or the toy race cars, I got a doll… Its a sad world we live in… haha!

    But what really sucks is they forgot your drink…

  2. Blaster Boy says:

    Hah hah. Never ended up with a copy. And I’m not going back to the Taco Bell to try again… or leaving my apartment until the sun comes out!

  3. Jesus H. Dude Christ. Obviously My Sims is cursed and you need to dump it ASAP.

Leave a Reply

