Dragon Age: Witch Hunt PC Review

Witch Hunt: Get ready for disappointment.

Disclaimer #1: Get ready for spoilers.

Disclaimer #2: The spoilers don’t really matter as there is very little to spoil.

Disclaimer #3: The DLC has next to nothing to do with Morrigan.

The first, and almost last time you see Morrigan

Oh, where to begin.. I spent more time trying to get the DLC to properly download and install then I did playing it. After reinstalling the whole game, finding some esoteric instructions that “cleared out” all sorts of old files, and finally installing by luck, I could actually play. I didn’t have any of my old save any more, so I made a new human female warrior, and set off in search of Morrigan.

You start the DLC at Flemeth’s old hut which somehow survived the darkspawn hoards, where you are paired up with Dog and a Dalish elf named Ariane who goes from somewhat unlikable to tolerable throughout the short adventure. She’s also looking for Morrigan who stole a book about something or another from her people. Upon exiting the hut, you are attacked by a group of darkspawn… for no explained reason. Warden senses didn’t even tingle.

Anyhow, soon you have a looser (in a likable way) of a mage join your group called Finn. You get to (re)explore the basement of the mage’s tower, where you get to interact with the talking statue again (you know, from the mage origin!) Before long your jumping around the map through a couple of mini dungeons such as a dwarven thaig and the dungeon from the Dalish origin.

At this point you might be wondering, what does any of this have to do with Morrigan? Well, after collecting various artifacts and performing a ritual, you find the location of another one of the mirrors from the Dalish origins story.

Once at this location, and after a boss fight against… well.. it was a boss.. you finally find Morrigan. If you created a new Warden for this adventure, like I did, your character will be an Orleasian Warden, and thus unfamiliar to Morrigan. This leads to a completely disappointing conversation where the witch tells you that her mother’s intentions were never what Morrigan thought they were. She says we all need to be really afraid of Flemeth (Dragon Age 2 set up?) and then she steps through the magic mirror and is gone.

That’s it. What has she been up to? What’s her mother up to? What happened to the demon baby? Do I have to finish another Origins game, import that character into this DLC, and then play again to see the demon baby story line? Why did I spend $7 on this? None of these questions are answered. I learned more about the talking statue in the mage’s tower then I did about Morrigan.

As you can tell, I was not impressed. Hell, I wasn’t even entertained. The most anticipated DLC (for me) and the most intriguing plot element from Origins that was never completed makes even less sense then before. If I ever do get around to playing this through with a Warden who had allowed Morrigan to be impregnated at the end of Origins, I’ll update this review.

Until then, I can’t really recommend this to anyone who was looking for a sense of closure. Less the 5% of this DLC is about Morrigan, and the rest is really not worth your time, let alone your money.

EDIT: Oh yeah, Morrigan also says she’s leaving you something at the end of the DLC. And then the credits role. What did she leave me? Hell if I know. Am I going to put more effort into figuring that ou

t? Hah hah hah….


The boss battle.


Opening scene at Flemeth's Hut.


Your two non-pet companions.


The Dalish elf Ariane.

Last we see of Morrigan?

About Armand K.

Digital Color and Retouching.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment